top of page



Reciprocity is simply an arrangement whereby a state will recognize the validity of another state’s license and issue the adjuster their state license. If you hold a Texas license you can submit an application to those states without having to take a course or the exam.

The following states DON’T require a Residence License:

Colorado, District of Columbia, Illinois, Iowa, Kansas, Maryland, Missouri, Nebraska, New Jersey,

North Dakota, Ohio, Pennsylvania, South Dakota, Tennessee, Virginia, and Wisconsin.


Fully understanding reciprocity is vital and it allows you to fully expand your range of employment by again being more marketable. It allows you to work in any state that recognizes your home state insurance adjuster license. You must complete that particular state’s non-resident application, and meet the requirement which excludes you from having to complete any other courses or exams.

The following states are reciprocal with Texas License:

  • Alabama

  • Alaska

  • Arkansas

  • Connecticut

  • Delaware

  • Florida

  • Georgia

  • Idaho

  • Indiana

  • Kentucky

  • Louisiana

  • Maine

  • Massachusetts

  • Michigan

  • Minnesota                 

  • Mississippi

  • Montana

  • Nevada

  • New Hampshire

  • New Mexico

  • North Carolina

  • Oklahoma

  • Oregon

  • Rhode Island

  • South Carolina

  • Utah

  • Vermont

  • Washington

  • West Virginia

  • Wyoming

Pinned map of the United States of Ameri
bottom of page